15% oil level OR 5k miles?

ac3jason

Maryland, Germantown
Vehicle Model
Civic Si
Body Style
Sedan
So im used to changing my oil every 5k miles with synthetic.
Im new to the digital info showing up on my screen. My last car was a civic lx 2004.
I came to the dealership and told them I want an oil change. They said you're still good untill 15% oil level as shown under maintenance info... this was a while back. I waited untill 15% and got it changed with synthetic oil.
Now I am at 5.3k miles and my oil level says 45%. I am used to changing my oil at 5k miles because I never had a screen telling me my oil%
Should I just change it. Or should I really just wait untill 15%?

If you're unsure which way to go, start sending samples off to blackstone labs. Get an oil analysis and that will tell you more than a generic maintenance minder.

http://www.blackstone-labs.com

I will say, I change mine at 5K no matter what the minder says. It's supposed to calculate the life based on how you drive and rpms and several other factors. That said, I'd rather do it more often and spend a little extra than blow parts to save a buck or two.

See how your minder looks and keep track of the mileage/% over a few oil changes and see if you notice a trend. Maybe you aren't as hard on it as you think and you can go 6k or 7k without issue.

Since you're coming to the Dragon, get an oil change before you come down. You are going to beat on it pretty good down there. Send off your oil before and after. Also watch how your % changes with the driving you're going to be doing.

Other people may have different opinions but there are a lot of variables and more than one way to look at the oil situation. Check out the bobistheoilguy forums as well. A plethora of information and enough info to get confused as well!

Run a good tier 1 full synthetic and watch the minder plus oil analysis. You should be good to go no matter what if you do those things.