2013+ Hybrid Grill Swap (Installed and Paint Matched)

What should I do:

• Plasti Dip: Black

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Paint: Black

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Jeffuhnator

Hayward
Vehicle Model
Honda Civic LX
Body Style
Sedan
Hey everyone, as some of you might know, I'm a broke college student. :pout:. So I've always admired the front grills on the 2013+ civic hybrids and planned on swapping out my regular grill out for that one. However, its about $450 for all the parts that make up the hybrid grill. I've looked at junkyards now and then and online from craigslist to ebay. Luckily, I found one for $100 and got it in a heart beat.

Take note that I DID look at the condition of the item and examined the photos provided, it's in pretty roughed up shape. Some clips broken (everything still holds on tight). Other then that, it's all battle scars and scratches. I'll be replacing only the Honda emblem.

I'm in the process of restoring the chrome pieces by repainting it. (Waiting a while for things to dry before clear coat). However, I wanted to know the communities opinion of what I should do this part (highlighted in red) :

I would take it to a professional, but I just recently spent some spare change on painting sideskirts/etc.

$_57-3.JPG

Plasti dip it black or paint it black ooooorrrrr color match it to my vehicle?

Example of a 2012 civic grill:
upload_2014-12-17_23-22-28.png

I'll be updating with pictures here. This is my first time actually painting besides plastidip. So my work might now be really low quality.

Last edited:
Heres a picture I found off of google images, since I'm repainting the chrome pieces, there won't be a tint of blue on the middle chrome piece any longer.
upload_2014-12-17_23-31-58.png

A picture of my car:
IMG_0155.JPG

Last edited:
Neat idea. I vote color match cause if you don't like it you can always plasti-dip it after!