Civic Manual Trans issues?

Who has Manual trans issues, who doesn't?

• YES

• NO

• Automatic to see votes

Results are only viewable after voting.

Monk

SW Virginia
Vehicle Model
2012 Civic EX
Body Style
Coupe FG3:ASM
Who has... Or does not have problems with their Manual transmission? No matter if it's clutch, or tranny.

2014 Si here with close to 20k miles and so far no problems. Sometimes I experience 2nd gear grind when downshifting from 3rd. I did noticed on facebook group that a lot of people have issues with their tranny in Si. Not sure if it's because they don't know how to drive manual or faulty gearbox.:shady:

2012 Si with 25k miles...no issues whatsoever.

Last edited:
2013 Si w/ 40k miles. Only problem I have is getting locked out of 2nd gear or grinding going in to 2nd from 1st gear only under spirited driving/racing.

So that's 2 yeses ?

I'm not sure I understand..... I've been driving ST for over 50 years, and never have I had a car/mc that gave me any issues changing gears from any of the gears to the other.. With the exception of putting it in 1st after idling in neutral, and very few times for those.....

Last edited:
sometimes i get a slight rattling noise when taking off from first. but generally i get no problems with grinding or popouts. Clutch is still strong. 2013 civic si with 16Kmiles

2015 si (9500mi) i have notices that sometime going into second gear quicly will result in a minor grind, but if you take your time this will not happen, imo this is an manufature defect in the gear box, so i will be taking it in, seeing as i only have 9500mi and dont drive it hard at all, the second thing i noticed was in the morning on a cold start going from netural to fist causes the car to move slightly, as if the clutch is not fully releasing...
not happy :( anyone else having similar issues?

Sometimes I cant get my 5sp into 1st gear. It goes 2/3 of the way and its just 'blocked'. I dunno if its a bent cable or fork or something