Do you downsize for winter and is it really worth it performance wise?

Dragos

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Vehicle Model
Si
Body Style
4 Door Sedan
Hello everybody,

I recently bought a brand new black 2012 SI which I absolutely love. I live in Canada so this means soon enough I will have to start shopping around for winter tires and steel rims, yet I am not sure if to downsize or not. I did a lot of research on the subject but I never tried downsizing tires myself so I have no real experience to base my decision upon. Lots of sites say downsizing will handle better in snow and ice due to smaller footprint and more ease to plow through snow, but i wonder how big is the difference and what others that have actually tried it think about it. They also mention better reliability and less possible flats due to shocks.
Considering a second set of tires and rims is an added cost anyways i do not want to cheap out on the savings from 17 to 16 if it is really not giving me the best handling and reliability. I am not considering swapping tires each season on the stock rims.
I enjoy spirited driving so my preference is the better handling on ice and snow even if it costs a bit more. Winter here is either snow and ice, or bone dry cold roads with some icy surprises depending on the day.

So here are my questions:

Have you downsized your winter tires on your SIs or other low profile tire cars, and if yes how much of a difference compared to using the stock size did you notice?

I am concerned with steel rim sizes for 16 which I read that they barely fit, i would hate to damage my breaks for a bit more stability on ice or cheaper tires. Do you guys have 16 steel rims and if yes what kind and where did you get them? Canadian info would be best, Ottawa, ON even better :)