First gen CRV

r18-power

FL
Vehicle Model
Focus ST
Body Style
Hatchback
IMG_1747.jpg IMG_1755.JPG So lately Ive been looking around and trying to see exactly I want to get as my next car since I no longer have my si. Everything on the market now does not fit my criteria, I want something with a little more space and family friendly. Lately I been looking at first gen crv's that are completely restored and swapped, which im starting to like the idea. I have never done a swap before but I do know older hondas are easier to swap. My question is for those of you that have done swaps in the past @ron v what engine do you recommend swapping in the CRV? B series, k series or a j series? What parts would I exactly need to make this happen? Of course if I do a b or k swap I want to boost it.

My goal:

Last edited:
If you go first gen just do a b20vtec engine (gsr/b16 head on b20 block with rod bolts and studs) a lot of fun and can be reliable if done right otherwise id just get a second gen since it already has a k series and you can go from there.

I agree with this guy. ^^^. If u plan on making some serious power though b20 blocks haven't been known to be the strongest. B16 head port and polished with some stronger head components then u have a 2.0 liter poor mans type r. Plus s300 to tune it. I only really know 92-95 civics @r18-power sorry I can't be of more assistance. Been looking into some theads about this and it's got my attention.

The first gen cr-v is essentially just a larger 6th gen civic. Any engine that can be swapped into the civic will fit the cr-v but whatever trans you use will have to be the awd variant and I'm assuming manual.

If you go first gen just do a b20vtec engine (gsr/b16 head on b20 block with rod bolts and studs) a lot of fun and can be reliable if done right otherwise id just get a second gen since it already has a k series and you can go from there.