Need help with Subs on 2013 civic lx

arter

NY Long Island
Vehicle Model
Civic LX
Body Style
Coupe
I just got 2 12" kenwood 1200watts subs with a 1600 watt amp installed on my 2013 civic lx. But now after like 10 minutes of playing music, all sounds would cut off and I would have to turn off my car and turn it on for sounds to come on. I went back to the store and they said it is because there's a feature where if my speakers were too hot, they cut off. So all they did was put a on\off switch for my amp and subs. The speakers and everything was fine before I got the subs installed. If anyone has any idea of what is wrong and what I can do to fix this please help me.

Sounds like the amp was getting too hot. They can go into heat protection mode if they get too hot and shut off. Pics of how the amp is mounted? What store did the amp install?

This is the picture of the amp mounted behind the backseats.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    840 KB · Views: 43
I'm a tech here in Tennessee. I agree with Webz. The subs could be wired wrong, possibly a high ohm load and the amp doesn't operate on it. For example, 2 12" 4-ohm DVC subs wired in parallel to a mono amp is a 1-ohm load on the amp. Most new mono amps aren't 1-ohm stable. Which would cause it to a) blow the amp/subs or b) get too hot and shut off.

So would changing my amp fix the problem? and I appreciate the feedback a lot.

Last edited:
I would say upgrade your cables and check your ground. With that kind of wattage being run you should use bigger gauge wiring for the power and ground. Is that 10 gauge?.

I would change the power and ground wiring to 8ga minimum. From the looks of that picture, it looks like 10ga. If its 8ga, def go to either 6ga or 4ga.
Let me know what you decide and I'll help as much as I can. Even PM.