Official Ask a Photographer thread!

Discussion in 'Photoshop & Photography Help' started by BrutPhoto, Jan 24, 2012.

  1. ethlar
    • Staff
    • 2019 Toys For Tots

    ethlar Grumpy Moderator

    Messages:
    4,182
    Location:
    TX
    Vehicle Model:
    TLX 3.5 SH-AWD Tech
    Body Style:
    Sedan
    since you do have a hot shoe on your camera you could go the strobist method (http://strobist.blogspot.com/2006/03/lighting-101.html) put a cheap radio transmitter on your camera, and get two inexpensive basic battery powered flashes. Set the camera on a timer on a tripod and you and your buddy can be "voice activated light stands" holding the flashes were you want them when the timer runs down
     
    nat3d likes this.
  2. Monk

    Monk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    SW Virginia
    Vehicle Model:
    2012 Civic EX
    Body Style:
    Coupe FG3:ASM
    nat3d likes this.
  3. nat3d
    • Supporting Member

    nat3d Wait, I don't drive a civic anymore....

    Messages:
    3,335
    Location:
    Adams MA
    Vehicle Model:
    Ford Focus ST
    Body Style:
    Hatch
    @hey_mikey ive got a tripod and ill take a look at the custom settings and @ethlar i dont want to mess up the natural light (as little as there is) because there are two shots we want one south bound and one north bound in our town center. northbound is the square with the library to the left which is always lit well and the church directly behind our statue of micenley both of which are dimly lit. as far as the southbound shot its down the main drag with our beautiful streetlights lining the way throwing off that homely yellow glow
     
  4. Monk

    Monk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    SW Virginia
    Vehicle Model:
    2012 Civic EX
    Body Style:
    Coupe FG3:ASM
  5. ethlar
    • Staff
    • 2019 Toys For Tots

    ethlar Grumpy Moderator

    Messages:
    4,182
    Location:
    TX
    Vehicle Model:
    TLX 3.5 SH-AWD Tech
    Body Style:
    Sedan
    Ive been using lightroom since version 2, its a great program, i have 4 now, dont know if ill get 5 since i got 4 this summer. Buts its a very powerful raw processing utility and pretty easy to use

    ive been pretty exclusively using the download versions, so it just means i dont have a physical box, or media
     
    Monk and webby like this.
  6. webby
    • Staff
    • 2019 Toys For Tots

    webby Administrator

    Messages:
    50,412
    Lightroom is a very popular photo editor. Aperture is also another competing program. Boxed versus unboxed - one will come in the mail with a physical disk. One will give you a login to download directly online - no disk. So, if you want physical media, go with the boxed version. If you don't care, you can do download.

    comparison done by pcmag like a week ago -

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2423036,00.asp
     
    Monk and ethlar like this.
  7. Monk

    Monk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    SW Virginia
    Vehicle Model:
    2012 Civic EX
    Body Style:
    Coupe FG3:ASM
    Thx @ethlar & @webby ...........
    I looked at Webby's link.... I'm going to go ethlar's recommendation, he's been happy with his.
    Just ordered the boxed(Disc so I can have a hard copy).
     
    webby and hey_mikey like this.
  8. webby
    • Staff
    • 2019 Toys For Tots

    webby Administrator

    Messages:
    50,412
    absolutely... pc mag picked lightroom as the winner as well...

     
    Monk likes this.
  9. hey_mikey

    hey_mikey Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    Concord, NC
    Vehicle Model:
    Accord Sport
    Body Style:
    Sedan
    i've been using lightroom since version 1. i upgraded to lightroom 5 a few months ago and for me it's definitely an improvement from 4, especially in the responsiveness of the program. if you do a lot of photography and need a way to organize your photos and do quick color correction and simple (as opposed to complex multi-layered) editing, lightroom is hard to beat.
     
    Monk likes this.
  10. Monk

    Monk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    SW Virginia
    Vehicle Model:
    2012 Civic EX
    Body Style:
    Coupe FG3:ASM
    I've been working with the S & A (shutter / app) mode but leaving the lens focus on manual, I'm getting what I want, I think, does doing it that way cancel out any of the auto features while I'm manually controlling the focus?
     
  11. Monk

    Monk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    SW Virginia
    Vehicle Model:
    2012 Civic EX
    Body Style:
    Coupe FG3:ASM
    Thx... @ether , I guess you noticed that the 5 is on sale for $99.
    With this post from hey_mikey's words on the 5 and 4......
     
    ethlar likes this.
  12. hey_mikey

    hey_mikey Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    Concord, NC
    Vehicle Model:
    Accord Sport
    Body Style:
    Sedan
    in a word, no. AF only controls focus, and doesn't affect exposure or anything else. some of the newer auto-exposure metering algorithms take focus distance into account to guess which part of the frame the subject is in, but even in manual focus mode, most current production lenses still relay distance information to the camera.
     
    Monk likes this.
  13. ethlar
    • Staff
    • 2019 Toys For Tots

    ethlar Grumpy Moderator

    Messages:
    4,182
    Location:
    TX
    Vehicle Model:
    TLX 3.5 SH-AWD Tech
    Body Style:
    Sedan
    i still have a valid .edu email so i can get it for around 75
     
    Monk likes this.
  14. Monk

    Monk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    SW Virginia
    Vehicle Model:
    2012 Civic EX
    Body Style:
    Coupe FG3:ASM
    Good, I'm finding I want to have one area in focus, and I'm not sure what AF will see(I need to also learn more about how to keep all those focus points working the way I want). Fun, Fun, Fun.......
     
  15. Monk

    Monk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    SW Virginia
    Vehicle Model:
    2012 Civic EX
    Body Style:
    Coupe FG3:ASM
    COOL !
     
  16. ethlar
    • Staff
    • 2019 Toys For Tots

    ethlar Grumpy Moderator

    Messages:
    4,182
    Location:
    TX
    Vehicle Model:
    TLX 3.5 SH-AWD Tech
    Body Style:
    Sedan
    Ive never really noticed any responsiveness issues on 4

    i used to use capture one v3, the one thing i loved about it were all the keyboard shortcuts and ability to process out batch files, very helpful after shooting a hockey game
     
  17. hey_mikey

    hey_mikey Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    Concord, NC
    Vehicle Model:
    Accord Sport
    Body Style:
    Sedan
    played with both capture one and aperture and never really cared for them. there are quite a few keyboard shortcuts in LR as well and batch processing is not hard if you use the "sync settings" command.

    and a lot of people seemed to have issues after upgrading from LR3 to LR4. it was well documented on adobe's forums. i think only certain hardware combinations had issues for some reason, but LR5 no longer has those issues for me.
     
  18. ethlar
    • Staff
    • 2019 Toys For Tots

    ethlar Grumpy Moderator

    Messages:
    4,182
    Location:
    TX
    Vehicle Model:
    TLX 3.5 SH-AWD Tech
    Body Style:
    Sedan
    i never encountered any issues with the lr3 to lr4 transition, it all seemed to just work

    i lost interest in capture one when they hit v4, the price was insane and they killed off all of the keyboard shortcuts
     
  19. Dar-Dar

    Dar-Dar Mordorator

    Messages:
    19,329
    Location:
    North NJ
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic Si
    Body Style:
    Fiji Blue Pearl Coupe Coolest Member Since: May 15, 2011
  20. ethlar
    • Staff
    • 2019 Toys For Tots

    ethlar Grumpy Moderator

    Messages:
    4,182
    Location:
    TX
    Vehicle Model:
    TLX 3.5 SH-AWD Tech
    Body Style:
    Sedan
    manual focus, may not talk back to your camera at all im not a fan but ive never used one. Id rather a tamron or tokina fisheye or the canon one if you have the extra $ to blow.

    Take a look at the offerings from lensbaby, theyre pretty reasonably priced artistic lenses and i believe they have a fisheye option
     
    Dar-Dar likes this.

Share This Page