Tires and Wheel Sizes (ALL Possibilities)

Pauly99to17

Ville de Quebec
Vehicle Model
2012 LX
Body Style
Dyno Blue Pearl Sedan (FB2)
So, I've been doing a bit of research and found this excellent resource on Tire and Wheel sizes. I'm no expert but this is what I have read and understand. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Take note that if it says Warning: Wide Tire or Very Wide Tire there could be a tire bulging issue. I.E. The tire may be too wide for the rim and so the extra rubber may bulge. However, if you only go one, or probably even two steps above the 'normal range' tire width, you should be okay. Please verify before with a pro. EX. My present tires are 215/45 R17, but my next tires will be 225/45 R 17. If you look at the LX chart it states that my new tires are "Warning: Wide Tires" but I know from research that these tires will not bulge. I'm pretty sure the 235s probably would not bulge either, but that would need to be verified. Also, if it says "Warning: Very Wide Tire"....you will want to make sure that this tire fits in your wheel well.

If you are looking to do the opposite, I.E. stretch your tires, then see the thread that AlienPrime started: http://9thcivic.com/forum/threads/stretch-tire-fittings.6486/

In any case, it is advisable to check with a pro before slapping down big cash on new tires.

See below for Si and EX tire sizes (after this LX chart)....

Tire Sizes All Rims.png

Here is the link to the EX chart.

http://www.automobile-catalog.com/tire/2012/1600625/honda_civic_ex-l_sedan_automatic.html

Si chart below.

Last edited:
I put the Si one on pg 121 of mod chat :p
tyceX6e.png

i'm going with the 225/45/17 for a difference of 1.4. How can i calculate the implications of that?

Last edited:
i'm going with the 225/45/17 for a difference of 1.4. How can i calculate the implications of that?
well we need more information :)

What wheels are you putting them on?