Modding Advise

Dii Miller

Im really new to all of this. But I got my first car. The most I could afford at this time is a 2014 Lx 4dr civic. I did a little bit of homework and found these things out.

Front wheel drive (so I'm assuming spoilers is not an option)
1.8 ltr R18 engine
Ivtec that bites down around 6000 rpm? (I went on a straight away and floored it. But I could be wrong)
Cvt transmission (no gears.. Interesting)
Independent rear suspension..
And single cam.

I'm just asking for some advise on what I can do to improve the performance of my car. I know that it's not the best platform to be working off of. And I know that it's not a manual... But I'm just trying to work with what I got right now. Any advise would be amazing. I'm willing to learn and I'm willing to listen. Thanks fellas.

yes FWD but there are a variety of spoilers you can install on your car. OEM Si, wing, decklid, and hybrid spoilers all available from the dealer. Plus Mugen aftermarket spoilers etc

theres no 'sport' vtec activated at a certain RPM with the R18 engine. vtec in your case refers to a 'regular' driving mode and a 'fuel economy' mode which is activated when cruising on the highway. Kind of the opposite of how the Si vtec works

engine performance upgrades on these cars do very little even when coupled with a Hondata flashpro tune. And they do absolutely nothing if you don't tune the car, would probably hurt performance actually. Your best bet is to make the car feel faster by upgrading the suspension. I'd reccomend a Progress 22mm rear sway bar to start. Its about 200$ and really tightens things up. Think about performance tires and maybe lowering springs/coilovers if you wanna take handling a step further after the sway bar

enjoy your car man!

pics!

Ktuner or hondata flashpro (with a custom tune) will be needed for any real engine performance gains. I don't know if you want to spend that kind of money without taking aftermarket parts into the equation?