New to SRI's..

npdude

Macon, Georgia
Vehicle Model
Civic Si
Body Style
Sedan
So I'm new to this car mods thing. I never used a short ram intake before. I was thinking about the K&N SRI for my 2014 civic SI sedan. I just want it for I guess you could say, the slight increase in HP but more for sound since just adding a SRI won't make a huge difference. I don't take my cars to the track, just for spirited driving and daily driving to work and to Atlanta. I searched for hours, but nothing to my specific questions are answered.

1. Do I have to tune anything?
2. What are the pros and cons?
3. Will it throw a check engine light?
4. Will it hurt my engine in the long term on normal daily driving?
5. Will it actually draw in more heat than the stock intake?

Thanks everyone!

@squiggy

1) you don't have to turn anything.
2a) pros - more noise.
2b) cons - waste of money and you will lose power. (wait for squiggy to reply)
3) It should not
4) No.
5) Yes.

Overall the stock intake system is better than 90% of the aftermarket stuff unfortunately. Or fortunately since you can then put that $300 towards parts that make a difference and not have to worry about getting an intake at all.

If you just want one cause you want one, then get one. If you like the increase in noise, the way it looks, just want some easy project and to have a reason to go wrench on your car: get it. If you are looking for actual gains, then save your money.

No prob. There are intakes that work and have shown gains but they are very particular and do require tuning solutions, flash pro, to run properly.

I found the quote I was looking for.

The only intake you should be considering is the PRL 3.5" CAI (and possibly Rick Spec'd). All others have not shown gains over the stock setup. Some even cause a loss in power. Vit has done a bunch of comparisons on tunes to support this.