DIY 2012 Civic 3M VentureShield Paint Protection Kit / Clearbra (Whole Car)

jasonandre

mlem
Super Mod
VIP Member
Toys For Tots
Alexandria, VA
Vehicle Model
Generation X
Body Style
Dad
DIY 2012 Civic 3M VentureShield Paint Protection Kit / Clearbra (Whole Car)

paintfull-500x500.jpg

This Do-It-Yourself serves as both an instructional article and a journal (of sorts) of my experience with installing these films and to show you what you're in-for should you want to save yourself the additional expense of a professional installation. It should be noted that this is my first time installing anything like this and I have zero background experience with it. Even though I tried to portray the experience with a light-heartened feeling, this install shouldn't be taken lightly as it requires a lot of tenacity and patience to apply correctly and to produce the desirable results.

The instructions and recommendations provided here apply to any kit you wish to install on your Civic, whether you have purchased one kit or all of them.

It was an extremely rewarding experience and is very well worth the time and effort. If you have any questions that aren't covered in this article, please post your comments in this thread and I will be happy to provide you any information I can.

Kits that are covered in this article:

graph_001.sized.png

Instructional Videos:

Although not produced by me, these videos give you an accurate depiction of what to expect and can greatly increase your success in application. Please watch them prior to continuing on with this article:

View: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o5btjWP6RvY

View: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mqCXatseNGc

Tools you need:
  • Rubber or Felt squeegee (Mactac, 3M, etc)
  • 1-liter or larger spray bottle (one required, two recommended)
  • Liquid Soap (Dawn recommended)
  • Water (distilled water is recommended)
  • Dry towels (one required, two recommended. Microfiber is a plus)
  • Preparation, patience, and persistence