2013 Si Sedan - TPMS Programming

Discussion in '9th Generation Civic General Discussion' started by Paul LeCain, Jan 15, 2019.

  1. Paul LeCain

    Paul LeCain Member

    Messages:
    4
    I have 16” blizzaks and rims for my 2013. The previous owner said he just swapped the wheels/tires package every winter and had a hand held device to register the sensors. He even gave me the codes.

    Sounded easy enough so I figured next oil change I’d just pay the dealer to do it. Two dealers have told me $120 and one hour to program. I called previous owner and he said ridiculous and just bring it to his house and he would do it with his tool that he bought on Amazon.

    Anyone have thoughts on this? Why are two dealers telling me this is a long process but some guy in a garage can do it in minutes?

    Thanks!
     
  2. webby
    • Staff
    • 2018 Toys For Tots

    webby Administrator

    Messages:
    49,529
    They want to charge you an hour of labor. Most shops will charge 75-150 to do it. It’s a money grab.
     
  3. dpetro1

    dpetro1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    Catonsville, MD
    Buy yourself an ATEQ quickset and you can program them yourself every season. Very easy to do.
    The 2013 has a direct tpms system so you have to get it programmed or you will get the check tpms error.

    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
     
    Paul LeCain likes this.
  4. Nanzzz

    Nanzzz New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic LX
    I have to switch to snow tires as well during the winter. My brother gave me his snow tires with rims (keeps his car stored) they don't have tmps and I just drive them like that. Been doing it for 3 seasons. Honestly I think you will be fine if your not in a rush to make up your mind going diy or dealer. Your just going to have your tmps light on. Just get a tire gauge and check the pressure once in a while and if it's just on your winter set ask your self if it's worth paying for the sensors installation/ programming to tell you that all your tires are @32psi
     
  5. dpetro1

    dpetro1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    Catonsville, MD
    The one downside to leaving the tpms light on is that You cannot disable the VSA system. Not a huge deal but this can be helpful if the car is stuck.

    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
     
  6. Nanzzz

    Nanzzz New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic LX
    The assist turn on when it's active doesn't it? Or is it on when it's disable?
     
  7. dpetro1

    dpetro1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    Catonsville, MD
    Not sure I follow your question?
    When the tpms light is on, the vsa cannot be disabled using the button on the dash.
    When the vsa is disabled the traction control light with the word "off" is illuminated.

    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
     
  8. Nanzzz

    Nanzzz New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic LX
    Like when the VSA light is illuminated does that mean that it's activated or disabled?
     
  9. ron v
    • 2018 Toys For Tots

    ron v The good, the bad, and the booty

    Messages:
    3,445
    Location:
    Escondido
    Vehicle Model:
    Hot fuego
    Body Style:
    Coupe and hatch
    Disabled
     
  10. dpetro1

    dpetro1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    Catonsville, MD
    When it's off (disabled) you see the traction symbol with the word OFF under it.

    If the wheels at spinning the TC light will flash telling you it is working.

    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
     
  11. Nanzzz

    Nanzzz New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic LX
    If the tmps light is on you said you can't disable the vsa right? So does that mean that mean having your tmps illuminated it will cause the vsa light to turn on? :scratches: im starting to confuse myself lol
     
  12. ron v
    • 2018 Toys For Tots

    ron v The good, the bad, and the booty

    Messages:
    3,445
    Location:
    Escondido
    Vehicle Model:
    Hot fuego
    Body Style:
    Coupe and hatch
    U can’t disable vsa when the tpms light is on.
     
  13. dpetro1

    dpetro1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    Catonsville, MD
    4th time is the charm i hope...The vsa is on by default and still functions properly if the tpms light is on. The vsa off only illuminates if you hold the button. This cannot be done if the tpms light is on.

    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
     
    webby likes this.
  14. Nanzzz

    Nanzzz New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic LX
    I need a 5th time jk lol
    Sorry I was have having an airhead:hmmm?: moment (=
     
  15. sunofwolf

    sunofwolf Active Member

    Messages:
    561
    Vehicle Model:
    honda SI 2013 35% tinted Hondata coupe 136+mph! SRT-4 180+! VFR-800-11750 rpm 10.9 1/4 130+! Neon 2001!
    Body Style:
    coupe
    can you install a tpms on a extra set of rims and tires? Is that a part from Honda?
     
  16. webby
    • Staff
    • 2018 Toys For Tots

    webby Administrator

    Messages:
    49,529
    You can, but you will get an error on your imid until you have the 2nd set of sensors programmed. The ecu will only hold one set of sensors, so you will have to get them reprogrammed any time you swap between those two sets of tires.
    https://www.collegehillshondaparts....1cGUmeT0yMDEzJnQ9c2kmZT02LXNwZWVkLW1hbnVhbA==
     
  17. sunofwolf

    sunofwolf Active Member

    Messages:
    561
    Vehicle Model:
    honda SI 2013 35% tinted Hondata coupe 136+mph! SRT-4 180+! VFR-800-11750 rpm 10.9 1/4 130+! Neon 2001!
    Body Style:
    coupe
    that is not good-is that part $33x4=$132 and the dealer has to program it or you can't turn the anti tire burning button off. Is it possible to switch the sensor to the other wheels and tire?
     
  18. webby
    • Staff
    • 2018 Toys For Tots

    webby Administrator

    Messages:
    49,529
    As you wrote, you need 4. One goes inside each tire on the wheel. It needs programmed as I said if you swap between wheels. Yes you can swap the sensors to other wheels. They are held on with a nut basically. Any tire shop could swap them if you're having different wheels installed.

    this shows how they are inside the tires on each wheel


    View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eCeoxXnsx9A
     
  19. webby
    • Staff
    • 2018 Toys For Tots

    webby Administrator

    Messages:
    49,529
    and that is pretty cheap as far as sensors go. Some manufacturers charge upwards of $100 per sensor. Most do not have replaceable batteries either,..... so if the battery in the sensor goes dead, you're buying new sensors.
     
  20. sunofwolf

    sunofwolf Active Member

    Messages:
    561
    Vehicle Model:
    honda SI 2013 35% tinted Hondata coupe 136+mph! SRT-4 180+! VFR-800-11750 rpm 10.9 1/4 130+! Neon 2001!
    Body Style:
    coupe
    a lot of extra work just to run some light weight wheels-17pds vs 23.5-tuner lug nuts save another pound-loss of 30pds.
     

Share This Page