Accidently shifted into 2nd trying to go into 4th

seagullfb6

Hey all,

I have a 15 sedan si and was going for a pass on the highway, I have been driving Si's all my life, 2000 si and 2008 si. So I am a decent driver and idk if it is the new 9th gen shifter or but somehow when i was at about 6800 rpm in 3rd and about to shift to 4th and I threw it into 2nd instead. The car rev limiter jumped to redline and the car pretty much braked a bit.
I put it back into neutral as soon as I could, it only lasted maybe 1/2 second to 1 second on redline. Then I put it into 5th gear and was fine, no engine light. Called Honda and asked if I needed a compression test cause I am paranoid. They said everything should be ok as long as nothing abnormal appears or if a light comes on.

I have done this multiple times on my other Si's as well, but not often. Usually everything ends up be just fine...am I just paranoid or what?
That Acuity short shifter looks so promising.
Thanks

Welcome to the forum!
I can say that I have been in the same situation that you are in now.
I had a 2007 civic ex that I also went from 3rd to 2nd gear accidentally, it happened so quick by the time I looked down at the RPMs I couldn't tell if I had over revved the engine or not but I did feel the car slow down probably just like you have.
I was also very paranoid that I had broken something, I drove with the radio off for probably a week trying to listen for some new noise.
Time went on and I racked up probably another 100,000kms (60,000 miles) without any issues and I traded it in after for a 2015 civic si sedan!

Hey thanks for the reply.

Are those stock wheels plastidipped? I'm thinking of doing the same.