squiggy

Cartographer
VIP Member
Michiana
Vehicle Model
Toyota MR2 Spyder
Body Style
Convertible
So I was doing some browsing on CHH's website and noticed that the EX-L has an option for heated mirrors and was debating doing a swap. As I was comparing part numbers I cam across this for the Si itself:

76253-TR0-305 MIRROR SUB-ASSY., L. (COO)(FLAT)(HEATED)

The part number is actually different than that of the EX-L. There is no indication that any other part has heating capabilities, though.

Could it really be as simple as swapping out the mirror? Is the wiring already in place to interact with the defrost button? Or does it really need a whole new sub-assembly and would the wiring of the Si even support the heating capability of the EX-L?

Installing heated side mirrors is not a project for the faint-of-heart, but for someone familiar with tearing into car bodies, it shouldn't be too hard either. As with any DIY, do anything here at your own risk. I'm not a trained mechanic or electrician, I'm not going to promise this won't set your car on fire or kill you. You have been warned.

So far I've only done this install on the driver's side and I haven't yet installed a tap on the rear defroster control line. It works when I test manually, but that's all that I can promise at this time. The instructions are based on the assumption everything will go to plan as I finish it up. I'll update this as I learn and do more.

Parts needed:
76203-TR0-A31 Mirror sub-assembly, right (heated) - Honda OEM part
76253-TR3-A31 Mirror sub-assembly, left (heated) - Honda OEM part
18 Gauge stranded wire in at least 2 colors (4 colors recommended, including yellow, white, and blue or black)
12 volt automotive relay and socket assembly, minimum 10 Amps capacity. This relay is overkill, but it's cheap enough and it worked for me:
Amazon.com: A2C 775 Universal Automotive Relay: Electronics
Bussman add-a fuse
Amazon.com: Bussmann BP/HHH ATM Add-A-Fuse: Automotive