Mixed Emotions, Rims on non-si civics

Ian Robertson

Austin, TX
So I was getting into a...discussion...with a friend who more or less claimed that after-market rims were tacky on a non-si Civic. His argument was that because the Si is actually a "sports car" you can upgrade things on it and make it look more sporty. A regular civic, coupe or sedan, is just a "grocery getter" and shouldn't have any aftermarket parts that you can see. His words were "anything beyond a tint job is just tacky"

First let me say, I'm an architecture student so I spend a lot of time just looking at good design and studying it....industrial design and cars are a big hobby of mine. This frequently puts me at odds with the typical car community I find in my home town. Most of them are just slamming 99 civics, buying walmart rims, and putting the biggest, noisiest coffee-can exhaust they can find on it. So while the designer in me agrees that there is a lack of taste in the "tuner" scene, I think it can still be done tastefully.

So the question is: Can you run custom rims on non-si civics? Or does that make you a wannabe racer that is in denial about the performance specs of his car...

To me, it all comes down to an individual's sense of value, which not everyone agrees on. The expense associated with any particular feature on a car is absolutely personal. People will pay more or less depending on what they want (performance, safety, styling, efficiency, etc.).

I may want to buy a Ferrari, and repaint it in pink and green checkerboard. Someone may not find the $15K it cost for me to be worth it, even though the expense itself is not extravagant compared to the price of the car.

The owner must decide whether it's more important to do what they like, or let others influence them.