Question about Clutch Delay Valve and launching

sirthanh

I don't launch my car often, and I never race my car so I'm a novice when it comes to this. Always been scared to damage my car, but I like to do some spirited driving once in awhile.

When I launch my car with my rev limiter set at 3,500 and then fully drop the clutch without feathering and mashing the throttle (i know i know, wheel spin, drivetrain); my car would just quickly speed up to 20mph and stay around there until a second or so AFTER I engaged 2nd gears. Pretty sure it's not because of wheel spin, and if there is any, then it's very minimal spinning. I only did this once or twice, but I was wondering if it's because of our Clutch Delay Valve that is causing the clutch to not engage fully to the engine for harsh launches.

Just double checking to make sure it's the clutch delay valve, and not my clutch going bad. Hopefully it's not, but I'm assuming it can't be my clutch slipping because it operates fine during normal driving or during heavy acceleration without launching. Definitely won't try that type of launch anymore. I will probably just partial throttle next time to get traction.

Last edited:
What you are feeling is probably the traction control kicking in.

I had traction control off during the launch.

If it is my clutch slipping under load, then it's a good excuse for me to upgrade my clutch. Finally paid off the car, so I'm probably going turbo next year. :)

That was a bit of pertinent information you left out...

Anyway, unless you are over 300whp, your clutch should not be slipping.

That was a bit of pertinent information you left out...

Anyway, unless you are over 300whp, your clutch should not be slipping.

Forgot to add that in the opening post. Lol

Yeah, I only have bolts on and vit tune atm, so it can't be slipping. Probably just have to work on a better technique for launching.