Guys, I need your input on brake pads.

Dar-Dar

Mordorator
North NJ
Vehicle Model
Civic Si
Body Style
Fiji Blue Pearl Coupe Coolest Member Since: May 15, 2011
My car is currently running on thin front brake pads and it's needs replacing. I'm searching around for new ones on Corsport and I'm looking to get either the Hawk HPS, Hawk Performance Ceramic, and EBC Redstuff. I'm only going to use them for regular driving. I just need your inputs on which brake pads to get. Thanks all.

Reactions: Nix
last time I was about to purchase one of these pads, the company asked me "why I was ordering them instead of the OEM honda replacements". I was rather confused, and expected they were better. The company basically told me to buy the oem honda replacements, and they didn't even offer them for sale (so they LOST a sale by telling me this). All they sold were aftermarket pads such as hawk. So, needless to say, I didn't buy aftermarket pads. I have no experience with either of those to comment, but hopefully someone can chime in. Obviously the company wasn't just out to make a sale, so I trusted that they truly felt the oem pads were of higher quality.

Interested to see others reactions/experiences

I did a few research and it seems like Red Stuff is like a hybrid between the HPS and the Hawk Performance Ceramic with good stopping power, very low brake dust, and long life. The only bad part is that the bed-in usually takes less than 1,000 miles and it will squeak/squeal during the 1k. I'll just give this one a try.

I just bought the Redstuff along with the Corsport cable bushings. I can't believe I didn't get them yet. :facepalm:

I'm surprised Robert hasn't chimed in on this yet...