2012+ R18 FlashPro

Discussion in 'Coupe & Sedan (Non-Si)' started by FB2Chris, Jun 17, 2013.

  1. nat3d
    • Supporting Member

    nat3d Wait, I don't drive a civic anymore....

    Messages:
    3,335
    Location:
    Adams MA
    Vehicle Model:
    Ford Focus ST
    Body Style:
    Hatch
    Doesn't a backfire occur from running lean? I could be wrong. But man you sound a lot like I did before I fell in love with the st lol
     
  2. Jake LXer

    Jake LXer Jaykwabee and the R18

    Messages:
    497
    Location:
    New York
    Vehicle Model:
    civic
    Body Style:
    sedan
    Backfiring i thought happens when you run too rich or if you're misfiring or something because it's just unused/unburned gas igniting in your hot exhaust...and dude so jealous you have an ST, I literally love that car my friend put a larger intake on his and man the sound of that turbo is just one of the sexiest things i've heard @nat3d
     
    Ron Flood and nat3d like this.
  3. nat3d
    • Supporting Member

    nat3d Wait, I don't drive a civic anymore....

    Messages:
    3,335
    Location:
    Adams MA
    Vehicle Model:
    Ford Focus ST
    Body Style:
    Hatch
    Thanks man I love the thing. Take a look at my build should be in my signature but I can't see if it is or not as I'm on Tapatalk. I need to add my short shifter to the build but is what it is. And dude its so much fun lol. If you're ever in western mass hit me up I'm always down for a meet and it doesn't matter to me what you drive.

    Backfire actually can occur from both (quick Wikipedia check as I wasn't 100% sure either)
     
  4. Jake LXer

    Jake LXer Jaykwabee and the R18

    Messages:
    497
    Location:
    New York
    Vehicle Model:
    civic
    Body Style:
    sedan
    I'm up in northern NY, and that's so weird that it can happen while running too lean :think:
     
  5. nat3d
    • Supporting Member

    nat3d Wait, I don't drive a civic anymore....

    Messages:
    3,335
    Location:
    Adams MA
    Vehicle Model:
    Ford Focus ST
    Body Style:
    Hatch
    I read it quick so I could have miss read
     
  6. Jake LXer

    Jake LXer Jaykwabee and the R18

    Messages:
    497
    Location:
    New York
    Vehicle Model:
    civic
    Body Style:
    sedan
    So, I got my flashpro for my 14' R18 MT. Can I just plug it into the OBD 2 port and hit program? That will run the basemap?
     
  7. webby
    • Staff
    • 2020 Toys For Tots

    webby Administrator

    Messages:
    52,155

    View: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=dHwkDRBJyp0

    They have other videos in their channel on how to use it.
     
  8. VNPP

    VNPP Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Rolla, MO
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic LX
    Body Style:
    FG3 Coupe
    Hey I haven't really been on here in a few years... does anybody know if a FlashPro for the R18s ever came out? I'm kind of confused from catching up on threads with different info



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. webby
    • Staff
    • 2020 Toys For Tots

    webby Administrator

    Messages:
    52,155
    VNPP likes this.
  10. Banshik

    Banshik Member

    Messages:
    15
    Hi everyone! I'll leave it here. I for a long time dealt with this problem and now I'm in the final. The fact is that I live in Russia and I have civic Fb8 (R18z1). I plug Hondata Flashpro, for this I pre-installed the ECU US which is compatible with FP. And here I was faced with a problem, ivtec started to work incorrectly. Appeal in support of Hondata gave the answer that civic fb us R18z1 use ivtec as B-series engines (traditional vtec) I could not believe for a long time that in America and in Russia the same engine R18z1 uses ivtec work in different ways)) Finally that Honda motor company directed me to the right path, gave a link to techinfo, which describes the work of i-vtec on R18z1. And dammit, they really work in different ways. And you also have two options for assembly. These are two markets in Mexico & USA / Kanada.
    IMG_20180208_193538.jpg
    IMG_20180208_193513.jpg
    http://techinfo.honda.com/rjanisis/...rd=&dbkey=61TR0D_C000194_enu&country=1&lang=0
    Resigned to this fact, I began to find out what exactly the differences are. I compared all engine partnumbers from my car and from Civic us and realized camshaft is the main reason for the differences. Then I found owners manual for the R18z1 US and saw that the camshaft lift tolerances were really different. Yes it really is, R18z1 can use the work of i-vtec in different ways. Why this is done I do not understand, but it's a fact.
    IMG_20180208_192645.jpg
    http://www.hocivic.com/camshaft_inspection_r18z1_-1123.html
    You can do as I have now. You can connect FP even if your ECU is not on the Hondata list. To do this, you need to buy ECU compatible, it costs $ 20-30 eBay, then in FP calibrations assign the inclusion of vtec to 8-9K rpm, that is, to the zone to which the engine is not working. Thus, to exclude the inclusion of an economy regime at all. In the end, we have all the delights of setting Hondata Flashpro. But if you need the full work of i-vtec, then you will have to exchange camshaft. Thank's
     
    webby likes this.
  11. webby
    • Staff
    • 2020 Toys For Tots

    webby Administrator

    Messages:
    52,155
    Thanks for the info. Do you have specific gasoline ratings to choose from where you live?

    In the US there are various versions from east to west coast. On the east coast you can commonly get 87, 89, and 93 octane. Some areas sell 85 which is corn based (vehicles have to be tuned to run it). A majority of western states have 85, 87, 91 octane ratings.

    Just makes me wonder if gasoline differences play a part in the changes to the engine for you?
     
  12. Banshik

    Banshik Member

    Messages:
    15
    In Russia we have a total of 92 95 98 octane. Not so long ago, one of the fuel companies began to trade 100 octane). But I do not think that the reason is fuel, because the 8th gen (R18A) was produced without distinction in all markets. Rather, it's your environmental standards (CARB) But then it's still strange that both versions of R18z1 can be found in the US
     

Share This Page