DIY 2013 Civic Hybrid Tail Lights on Si

iShift_6

Sitting in Traffic
Vehicle Model
Civic Si
Body Style
Sedan
Let me preface all this with I'm no electrician or electrical engineer.
Just a guy with a volt meter and way too much time on my hands.

With that said, here goes my first attempt at a DIY.

First thing I did, that will spare everyone else time, is buy both harnesses
and do a pin for pin comparison. See below.

Although you guys might want to have a donor Si harness around so you don't kill your stock one.

tails1.jpg

Si Harness Below

tails2.jpg

Hybrid Harness

tails3.jpg

With that in hand I went after labeling every connection to figure out what was what.
Did this by matching up connectors that would be the same on both cars and working
backwards from there. See difference below

tails4.jpg

Si Harness at Tail Light Ends
1: Turn Signal
2: Running Light (3 little LEDs)
3: Brake Light

tails5.jpg

Hybrid Harness at Tail Light Ends
1: Brake & Running Lights
2: Turn Signal

Those are the main connections.
There are other difference, but those are coming up.

Here are the harnesses side by side and the connections that need to be addressed

tails6.jpg

Highlighted section is where all the magic happens.
The upper harness is the Si, notice the extra white connection.

tails7.jpg

Hybrid Harness on Left
1: LED Running Lights
2: Reverse Light

Si Harness on Right
2: Reverse Light
3: Running Light
4: Third Brake Light (Spoiler Light)

tails8.jpg

Detail of the Si Harness
1: Reverse Light
2: Running Light
3: 3rd Brake Light

As many people speculated on how to do this, splicing into the main line, that's exactly what Honda does.
Here is their splice point. It's about 12 inches from the main connection.

tails9.jpg

I cut the wires at the main connector and just below the crimped connection.

I also traced the connector's ground back to the main bundle, and removed it, and cut the extra ground wire off of it.