Odd Brake Pedal "Vibration"

pvt_awol

Greetings all, noob here. Long-time lurker, first time poster.

I've been what I consider to be a "civic connoisseur" for many years now. I picked up a 2012 Si Sedan last year, and honestly, I'm not too thrilled about it.

One issue that I've been having lately is, when I first start to press the brake pedal in, I get some slight noise from what seems like the pedal, and the first inch or so of travel seems to "vibrate."

It's almost like what the pedal feels like if you are pushing it and your ABS engages. Does that make sense? It is far less severe than the actual ABS engaging though.

There is no difference to the brakes that I can tell, no other odd conditions with the car. Everything works fine, it's just annoying, and I fear a prelude to a larger issue to come. The car only has 3k miles on it, I've owned it since brand new. This issue has only sprung up in the last 2 weeks or so, and I've been driving the car since last September. (The only real difference in the environment has been the temperature increasing. We've had 75 to 80 degree weather recently.)

Am I being paranoid? Should I even bother the dealer with this? I REALLY want to like this car, but I'm just torn. It seems like I'm going to nit-pick every little thing to death. Anyway, just looking for some input folks, if you'd like to share some. Thanks in advance!

- Josh

Does the vibration disappear if you push further? If it does not you should get your brakes checked sooner, many things can be at fault. If it does disappear it can be slightly uneven brake pads, discs, pistons or any other component and you should still have it checked but not that bad or urgent.

In general if i feel vibration in the brake pedal on any car i own i would go have it checked asap. It may be cosmetic or just leading to more expensive work.

If you did some hard braking and locked the wheels hard (though si has ABS) it can be uneven rotors.