DIY RBC Swap into 9th Gen - * ECU Tuning Is Mandatory *

Discussion in 'Engine DIY' started by Privman, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. webby
    • Staff
    • 2020 Toys For Tots

    webby Administrator

    Messages:
    52,087
    You'll need him to do a retune for the car to actually be functional.
     
  2. OgAk907

    OgAk907 Member

    Messages:
    5
    Right now I'm turning with VitViper but still have the idle sound. He say it might be my vacuum leak or my tb adjustment but I check that already. Any clue why it's still idle?
     
  3. webby
    • Staff
    • 2020 Toys For Tots

    webby Administrator

    Messages:
    52,087
    Is the rpm bouncing? I don't know how far you are into tuning, or what map you're on? Has vit said the problem isn't tuning related at this point?
     
  4. OgAk907

    OgAk907 Member

    Messages:
    5
    Yes,my rpm keep bouncing from 1 to 2rpm and I'm on map 2 only with VitViper. Don't wanna drive around with my idle problem.
     
  5. webby
    • Staff
    • 2020 Toys For Tots

    webby Administrator

    Messages:
    52,087
    vitviper is going to be your answer for that. If he's saying it's not tune related and you have a vacuum leak.... I don't know what else to say. He diagnoses cars nonstop
     
  6. ron v
    • 2020 Toys For Tots
    • Supporting Member

    ron v The Forum Idiot

    Messages:
    5,582
    Location:
    Escondido
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic
    Body Style:
    Si Coupe
    Gonna do this next weekend. :brock:
     
    webby and Sarcras like this.
  7. ron v
    • 2020 Toys For Tots
    • Supporting Member

    ron v The Forum Idiot

    Messages:
    5,582
    Location:
    Escondido
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic
    Body Style:
    Si Coupe
    Gonna get going on this. Hope some of y'all will be around just in case. Lol. But seriously. :)
     
  8. squiggy
    • Staff
    • 2020 Toys For Tots

    squiggy Cartographer

    Messages:
    11,183
    Location:
    Michiana
    Vehicle Model:
    '12 Civic Si
    Body Style:
    DBP II Coupe
    webby likes this.
  9. ron v
    • 2020 Toys For Tots
    • Supporting Member

    ron v The Forum Idiot

    Messages:
    5,582
    Location:
    Escondido
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic
    Body Style:
    Si Coupe
    No dammit. Wish I did. Lol. I have to go back and reroute the wires harness to the throttle body.
     
  10. Gilles LeClair

    Gilles LeClair Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    173
    Location:
    Moncton, NB. Canada
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic Si
    Body Style:
    Sedan
    Have any of you guys ever seen a RBC intake manifold that had the coolant section cut off? (picture below)
    20170917_101020.jpg
     
  11. ron v
    • 2020 Toys For Tots
    • Supporting Member

    ron v The Forum Idiot

    Messages:
    5,582
    Location:
    Escondido
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic
    Body Style:
    Si Coupe
    Are u talking about the big port underneath?

    I've truthfully only seen one rbc, and that's the one I installed on my car. Ha
     
  12. Gilles LeClair

    Gilles LeClair Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    173
    Location:
    Moncton, NB. Canada
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic Si
    Body Style:
    Sedan
    The coolant part on the far right of the manifold where it bolts up to the head has been cut off.
    Ktuned makes a coolant plate that kinda replaced it (second picture)

    25-119-thickbox.jpg
    KTD-K24-IMA_08.jpg
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2017
    ron v likes this.
  13. ron v
    • 2020 Toys For Tots
    • Supporting Member

    ron v The Forum Idiot

    Messages:
    5,582
    Location:
    Escondido
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic
    Body Style:
    Si Coupe
    Did u get this already? Is there advantage to having this? Looks cool just seems easier to plug the hole up top.
     
  14. ron v
    • 2020 Toys For Tots
    • Supporting Member

    ron v The Forum Idiot

    Messages:
    5,582
    Location:
    Escondido
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic
    Body Style:
    Si Coupe
    Actually if I would've know this could be done I probably would've when prl bored out my rbc. I just like how it looks. Haha.
     
  15. Gilles LeClair

    Gilles LeClair Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    173
    Location:
    Moncton, NB. Canada
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic Si
    Body Style:
    Sedan
    I have the black rbc manifold that I posted at first, missing everything else to complete the swap.
    I've been told that it would run cooler intake air temperatures.

    The PRL adapter kit is not needed but I do need a thermal gasket instead.
    What I am wondering is which thermal intake manifold gasket am I going to need.

    I'm not sure if the ktuned coolant plate goes over a thermal gasket or if I need a thermal gasket that only goes over the rbc manifold.
     
  16. 323

    323 Modifier

    Messages:
    5,252
    Location:
    Chicago
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic Si
    Body Style:
    Sedan
  17. Gilles LeClair

    Gilles LeClair Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    173
    Location:
    Moncton, NB. Canada
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic Si
    Body Style:
    Sedan
    Found out today that i'll have to use a thermal gasket from a k20a2 which is a rsx since they also don't have the coolant portion.
    I wasn't sure if the coolant plate would need a thermal gasket but it simply goes directly on the block.

    I will also need a throttle body spacer if I remember correctly? Would it be a spacer from the 2006-2011 civic si?
     
  18. ron v
    • 2020 Toys For Tots
    • Supporting Member

    ron v The Forum Idiot

    Messages:
    5,582
    Location:
    Escondido
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic
    Body Style:
    Si Coupe
    I got my tb spacer from prl
     
  19. Gilles LeClair

    Gilles LeClair Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    173
    Location:
    Moncton, NB. Canada
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic Si
    Body Style:
    Sedan
    This the adapter kit i'm assuming?
     
  20. ron v
    • 2020 Toys For Tots
    • Supporting Member

    ron v The Forum Idiot

    Messages:
    5,582
    Location:
    Escondido
    Vehicle Model:
    Civic
    Body Style:
    Si Coupe
    Oh yea. Didn't think of that but yea u are correct.
     

Share This Page